Share |

Members in the News & Member Accomplisments

ACVP member Dr. Arthur L. Hattel, clinical professor of veterinary pathology in the College of Agricultural Sciences, has received the 2017 Faculty Outreach Award from Penn State. The award honors faculty who have positively and substantially affected individuals, organizations or communities through problem solving or development as a result of extending their scholarship. Congratulations!

Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine in St. Kitts, West Indies, has appointed Dr. Sean J. Callanan as dean. He has over 25 years of experience in research and veterinary education. Congratulations, Sean!

Two ACVP members (Jamie Henningson, a diagnostic pathologist, and Bhupinder Bawa, a former pathology resident, both with the Kansas State Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory) were part of a research team that discovered a novel fatigue syndrome affecting feedlot cattle. Learn more here:

Several ACVP members were recognized by JAVMA for their academic leaderhip achievements. Dr. K. Paige Carmichael (Tuskegee ’87) was honored with the Iverson Bell Award for her contributions to advancing inclusion and diversity in academic veterinary medicine. Dr. L. Garry Adams (Texas A&M ’64), a professor at the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, received the Senator John Melcher, DVM, Leadership in Public Policy Award. Dr. Jon S. Patterson (Cornell ’81) was the recipient of the AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis. And Dr. Lance E. Perryman (Washington State ’70), dean emeritus of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, was chosen to deliver the Recognition Lecture. Congratulations!

Dr. Amanda Fales-Williams, associate professor of veterinary pathology in the College of Veterinary Medicine at Iowa State University, will continue to enhance student learning and teaching with the assistance of a new endowed chair. Dr. Fales-Williams has been named the inaugural holder of the Tyrone D. Artz, MD, Chair for Teaching Excellence in Veterinary Medicine. The named faculty position was established by Dr. Artz (1941-2015), a former retired orthopaedic surgeon who graduated from Iowa State University in 1964, with a BS in zoology. Although accepted into veterinary school; he ultimately decided go to medical school at the University of Iowa. After a successful career as an orthopaedic surgeon, Dr. Artz chose to recognize both his alma maters with a charitable land gift, opening a pathway for this chair position and several other gifts to the College of Veterinary Medicine and College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University. The intent of Dr. Artz was to further enhance student learning and promote innovative teaching methods.


login | donate

2424 American Lane | Madison, WI 53704 | Phone: 608.443.2466 | Fax: 608.443.2474 | Email:
ACVP Privacy Policy